# Charter

#### 1. Name

The name of the International Committee shall be the «International Committee of Editors of Diplomatic Documents» (ICEDD). It shall be affiliated to the International Committee of Historical Sciences (ICHS/CISH).

## 2. Objective

The International Committee shall bring together scholars with a common interest in the editing of contemporary diplomatic documents, enabling them to engage in a wider discussion and investigate common concerns, concepts, problems and methodologies over a diverse range of historical and historiographical areas.

#### 3. Members

Membership shall be open to individual scholars who are or have been involved in the editing of diplomatic documents, and who accept the Charter of the International Committee.

Qualified scholars should apply in writing to the Bureau of the International Committee. Admission to membership in the International Committee is decided by the Bureau. Each member shall pay a biennial membership fee (dues) at a rate recommended by the Bureau and approved by the General Assembly. Members are listed in the official Member's List, receive information on the International Conference of Editors of Diplomatic Documents, and receive the call for papers and the information to participate in the Committee's activities during the ICHS/CISH-Conference.

If a member wishes to terminate membership then this member must announce this in writing to the Bureau. The International Committee can end the membership of a member infringing the Charter's objectives or not paying the membership fee for two consecutive periods.

## 4. Organs

The organs of the International Committee are

- 1. The General Assembly
- 2. The Bureau

# 4.1 General Assembly

The International Committee meets at least once every two years in General Assembly.

### 4.2 Bureau

The Bureau consists of a President, a Secretary General and three to seven additional Members. The organizer of the next Conference of Editors of Diplomatic Documents should be a member of the Bureau. Bureau Members are elected every 4 years by the General Assembly.

The Bureau will meet ordinarily once a year. Between two meetings of the International Committee, the Bureau has full authority to conduct the affairs of the International Committee.

The Bureau is concerned with preparations for general assemblies, with the monitoring of international editorial questions, and with scientific relations with national and international organisations, especially the International Committee of Historical Sciences (ICHS/CISH).

The members of the Bureau function without remuneration. They serve at their own risk and peril. Travel expenses are secured by the members of the Bureau themselves or their home institution.

### 5. President

The President chairs the meetings of the General Assembly and of the Bureau. Together with the Secretary General he represents the Committee officially.

# 6. Secretary General

The Secretary General is responsible for the convocation of the meetings of the General Assembly and of the Bureau, the administration of memberships, the maintenance of the

website, for providing members with general information and keeping the contact to ICHS/CISH and other organisations.

## 7. Auditor

To ensure that membership fees and all financial transactions carried out by the ICEDD are in correct order, the Bureau shall elect an Auditor for a four-year period who will ensure that the accounts of the ICEDD are correct in all respects and are clearly presented to the General Assembly of the ICEDD. The holder of this office shall prepare a financial statement in conjunction with the Secretary General and it shall be accepted by the General Assembly.

### 8. Dissolution

Should the number of individual members fall below three, or a qualified majority of 2/3 of the members decide so, the Commission will be dissolved and its funds transmitted to the International Committee of Historical Sciences (ICHS/CISH).

Geneva, Palais des Nations, October 3, 2013

Marc Dierikx, President

Sacha Zala, Secretary General

With revision of Art. 4.2, decided at the General Assembly in Berlin, Federal Foreign Office, June 7, 2019

Dorothee Pautsch, President

Sacha Zala, Secretary General