Documenti Diplomatici Italiani (DDI)

The publication of Italian documents on foreign policy, with the title I documenti diplomatici italiani, was initiated, following World War II, by the Italian minister of Foreign Affairs, Alcide De Gasperi, with Legislative Decree of September 20, 1946, n. 96, which established the “Commissione per il riordinamento e la pubblicazione dei documenti diplomatici italiani” (“Commission for the organization and publication of Italian diplomatic documents”).

Initially, the period to be included within the publication of the documents was to begin with the Italian Unification in 1861 and to continue up to 1943. Subsequently, the final date was modified from 1943 to 1958. The documents were to be subdivided initially into nine Series, each comprising a variable number of volumes, depending on the length of the period. The initial plan comprised the following nine Series:

First Series: 1861-1870
Second Series: 1870-1896
Third Series: 1896-1907
Fourth Series: 1908-1914
Fifth Series: 1914-1918
Sixth Series: 1918-1922
Seventh Series: 1922-1935
Eighth Series: 1935-1939
Ninth Series: 1939-1943

Subsequently the number of Series was increased up to twelve:
Tenth Series: 1943-1948
Eleventh Series: 1948-1953
Twelfth Series: 1953-1958

The various series have progressed independently and concurrently, thus some series have been completed earlier, while some others are not completed as yet. The Series that are completed as of today, are the following: Series I (1861-1870), II (1870-1896), V (1914-1918), VII (1922-1935), VIII (1935-1939), IX (1939-1943) and X (1943-1948).


Documenti Diplomatici Italiani

Edited volumes: 

1a Serie: 8 gennaio 1861-20 settembre 1870, completa in tredici volumi,
curati da Walter Maturi (I, II, XIII), Ruggero Moscati (III, IV, V, VI,
VII) e Ennio Di Nolfo (VIII, IX, X, XI, XII).

2a Serie: 21 settembre 1870-9 marzo 1896, completa in venti sette volumi,
curati da Federico Chabod (I), Angelo Tamborra (II, III, IV, V, VI, VII,
VIII, IX), Franco Valsecchi (X, XI, XII), Ennio Di Nolfo (XIII, XIV),
Edoardo Del Vecchio (XV-XVI, XVII-XVIII, XIX, XX), Renato Mori
(XXI) e Giampiero Carocci (XXII, XXIII, XXIV, XXV, XXVI, XXVII).

3a Serie: lO marzo 1896-31 dicembre 1907, in undici volumi: pubblicati
i volI. I-VIII (10 marzo 1896-28 marzo 1905) a cura di Carlo Morandi
(I), Giacomo Perticone (II, III), Enrico Serra (IV, V, VI) e Giampiero
Carocci (VII, VIII).

4a Serie: l° gennaio 1908-2 agosto 1914, in dodici volumi: pubblicati i
volI. V-VI e VII-VIII (11 dicembre 1909-18 ottobre 1912) a cura di
Edoardo Del Vecchio e XII (28 giugno-2 agosto 1914) a cura di Augusto

* 5a Serie: 3 agosto 1914-3 novembre 1918, completa in undici volumi,
curati da Augusto Torre (I), Ettore Anchieri (II, III, IV, VII, VIII, IX, X,
XI), Pietro Pastorelli (II, III) e Federico Curato (V, VI).

6a Serie: 4 novembre 1918-30 ottobre 1922, in sette volumi: pubblicati i
volI. I-II (4 novembre 1918-23 marzo 1919) a cura di Rodolfo Mosca e
III (24 marzo-22 giugno 1919) a cura di Renato Grispo.

* 7a Serie: 31 ottobre 1922-14 aprile 1935, completa in sedici volumi,
curati da Ruggero Moscati (I, II, III, IV) e Giampiero Carocci (V, VI,

* 8a Serie: 15 aprile 1935-3 settembre 1939, completa in tredici volumi curati
da Renzo De Felice e Pietro Pastorelli (I, II, III), Gianluca André (IV, V,
VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI) e Mario Toscano (XII, XIII).

* 9a Serie: 4 settembre 1939-8 settembre 1943, completa in dieci volumi,
curati da Mario Toscano (I, II, III, IV, V), Pietro Pastorelli (VI, VII, IX,
X) e Giuseppe Vedovato (VIII).

* 10a Serie: 9 settembre 1943-7 maggio 1948, completa in sette volumi,
curati da Pietro Pastorelli (I, III, IV, VI, VII) e Ennio Di Nolfo (II, V).
1r Serie: 8 maggio 1948-24 giugno 1953, in otto volumi, pubblicati i
volI. I-III (8 maggio 1948-26 gennaio 1950) a cura di Ennio Di Nolfo
(I) e Pietro Pastorelli (II-III).

* finished series

Volumes in preparation: 

12a Serie: 25 giugno 1953-11 giugno 1958, in sette volumi, in preparazione.

Last update: 2013-10-01